Good manners are never a waste

Pearl came home from her two-night sleepover with Nana and Poppa today.  She had a great time, and was very well-behaved.  Fainjin and Babess were glad to have her back, which they demonstrated by bickering with her all the way home.

A little while after we got home, I was trying to get Pearl to try on some of her trousers – she’s grown taller, and most are now too short for her.  I needed to know which ones are still long enough.  She was snarky and grouchy and flounced around as if I was asking her to scrub out the Augean Stables with her own toothbrush.  Exasperated, I said, “I bet you weren’t like this for Nana!”

She sniped and grouched some more, then said, “And no I wasn’t like this for Nana!”

“Well, why are you treating me so badly then?”

“Because I wasted all my good manners on her!”

Leave a Reply

