The great annual clothes sorting

Pearl and I finished a big school holiday chore today, and it’s a huge relief to get it out of the way.  We sorted through all her clothes.  She tried nearly everything on, and we folded everything neatly as we made the decisions.  There were a few pouts and sighs, but it is all done now.

I have a small box of clothes which either fit and she doesn’t like or which are hand-me-downs that will never fit (wrong shape).  We’ve already handed some of these on to a friend who came for a play-date today!

I have a small bag of throw-aways – mostly tights with huge holes in, beyond repair.  I suppose I could make sock puppets.  Maybe I’ll see whether daycare wants sock puppets.

I have one pair of tights to darn – only two small holes, and apart from those in very good condition.

I have a small number of “keep for Babess” extra-special outfits.

And I have two ENORMOUS bags of too-small clothes to be passed along the chain of friends with daughters a year or two younger than Pearl.

Pearl has space in her closet and drawers – so much space that one drawer has been designated the “dress-up box” for princess dresses, aprons, ladybird costumes and so on.

Win-win-win-win-win, as far as I see it.  We can go shopping next week to replace a few winter essentials that she’s grown out of.

Next stop, Babess’ and Fainjin’s clothes drawers… sigh.

2 Responses to “The great annual clothes sorting”

  1. leechbabe Says:

    :Grin: I do our clothes sorting out twice a year, during spring in preparation for summer and during autumn ready for winter. We’ve just finished the winter sort out. Got rid of less than I expected, but with both girls at school now and wearing uniforms they have far less clothes.

    Doesn’t it feel just blissful to fling open the closets and see all that space 🙂

  2. Stimey Says:

    I just did my winter/summer clothing switchout for my kids. We don’t try anything on though. I eyeball everything.

    Now I just have to do my clothes. Sigh. (Just like you. 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

