The baby with one red shoe

When I arrived at daycare to spend some time playing before hometime, Babess came running up with a huge grin on her face. “Mama! Mama! Mama! Mama! Mama! Mama!” Her legs are so short it takes her a long time to run anywhere. She was clutching a baby doll – no surprise. “Babess bay-beeee” she informed me. Baby was naked, except for a pink blanket wrapped haphazardly around her.

We walked around for a little while, then I sat to put her socks and shoes on, ready to go home. She ran off for a moment, leaving Baby in my lap, and re-appeared with a single sock. Daycare has about a million single socks, it’s amazing. I’ve spent hours at working bees trying to pair them up, but no matter how often you clear them out there are always boxes of odd sockses left over.

Anyway, as I was saying, Babess brought along a sock. She started to put it on Baby’s left foot, but couldn’t quite get it to go on. She looked up at me. “You halp me,” she demanded. So I helped her put the sock on – it was much too big, of course, but she was happy.

Then she ran off again, reappearing with a single red gumboot, which she managed to put on Baby herself. She lifted Baby, clad in her sock and gumboot and nothing else, and put her in a doll pushchair, and wheeled her around the room, so pleased with herself.

Leave a Reply

