A day off

This morning at breakfast, Fainjin rested his head on his arms.  I looked at him suspiciously.  He was a bit pale.  He ate his breakfast, but then he sat.  No running and shrieking.  Very unusual.

“Are you ok?” I asked, feeling his forehead and relieved to find it cool.

“Yeah,” he said.  He started to shiver.

“Do you have a sore tummy?”

“Yeah.”

I tried to get him to put a warmer top on (he insists on t-shirt and shorts, no matter what the weather), but he refused.  He climbed into my lap and snuggled for quite a while.  “I think you’d better stay home with me today.”  “Yeah.”

When the rest of the family had dispersed to their various destinations, I spread some precautionary towels on the couch and his bed.  “Would you like to lie down on the couch, or go back to bed?” I asked.  I expected him to want the couch, with its implicit offer of having the TV on.  “Bed,” he said, and my eyebrows rose as my heart sank.  He snuggled down quite happily, though, with a plastic container near at hand.

I checked on him frequently as I went about my day.  It was about half an hour later and I was in the middle of doing dishes when I heard him call me.  I rushed to his bedside.  “I awake now!” he chirped.  He looked a lot better, too.

I installed him on the couch, and turned on the TV, and there – most unusually – he stayed for most of the day.  At one point he told me that he was watching a particular show for one of his friends at daycare who especially likes it.  Such selflessness.

After Pearl came home from school he became much more active, running around with her outside for a while.  I think he was just worn out, and perhaps fighting off a bug of some sort.  He fell almost instantly asleep when he went to bed tonight, so a day of relative inactivity has done him no harm and hopefully some good.

Fingers crossed that that’s the end of it.

3 Responses to “A day off”

  1. leechbabe Says:

    Fingers crossed for you.

    I know if Heidi’s speech gets very lucid and coherent that she is getting sick.

    • upsidebackwards Says:

      Thanks. I feel like we had so much bad luck with tummy bugs at the start of the year, we should get a pass for a while, but I know life isn’t always fair! How odd about Heidi’s speech. Do you think the unwell feeling makes her stop and concentrate?

  2. Amanda Says:

    There is nothing quite so torturous as watching them suffer. Fingers firmly crossed 🙂

Leave a Reply

