Mystery

Fairly soon after bedtime this evening, I heard someone crying.  I went into the bedroom to find Fainjin sobbing and very upset.  “I feel sick!” he said (I think that’s what he said, it was between sobs).

He said he had a sore tummy, so I grabbed the handy plastic ice-cream container we keep on the dresser for such emergencies.  His tears rained down on my hands.  I rubbed his back, and the sobs slowly stopped.  I asked him where it was sore (wondering about appendicitis or other variations on tummy pain), and he waved his hand in the vague direction of his torso.  There was no fever.  I prodded his tummy gently, and couldn’t feel anything, and more importantly didn’t get any reaction from him that any spot was more sore than anywhere else.  I got him to stand up and prodded again, with no reaction.

By now, the sobs had stopped, although his cheeks were still wet with tears.  “Do you feel any better?” I asked.  He nodded.  “I happy now”, he said with a sunny smile.  He snuggled back down in his bed and has been quiet there ever since.  Whatever the pain was, it stopped as suddenly as it started.

Perhaps this is related to his listless day last week, or perhaps not.  I’ll be quite happy for it to remain a mystery, as long as it doesn’t come back!

One Response to “Mystery”

  1. leechbabe Says:

    I hope he is feeling better soon.

Leave a Reply

