Counting

I’m always counting things with the children, or pointing out patterns.  Whenever we climb steps, hang washing, see several cars in a row of the same colour, we count.  This is especially true when cooking.  Depending on their age and stage, they measure, or they count while I measure.  “We need three cups of flour – help me count!  One… two… three! Now, two cups of sugar…” and so on.

So it was entirely natural for Babess to “help” me this morning while I was making my porridge.  I put the oats in the bowl, then added the water.  As I tipped in the first measure of water, a little voice behind me said, “Three…”

Leave a Reply

