Asking nicely

A little while ago, Fainjin asked for something, and I didn’t catch what he said.  I asked him what he wanted, and he said, “Pleeease, Mummy.”

“Please Mummy – what?” I asked, trying to get him to repeat his original request.

“Please Mummy darling!” he wailed somewhat desperately.  Whatever he wanted, he wanted it very much.

Recently he’s taken to shouting orders, such as “I need milk!”.  We refuse to give it to him until he rephrases without shouting and says, “Please can I have some milk?”  It’s taking a bit of work, but sometimes he remembers all by himself now.

Our expectations of Babess are a little lower, befitting her age and stage.  We just want her to say “Please”.  She’s much better at saying “Thank you” (or “Dan oo”) than “please”, for some reason.  Tonight, though, she said, “More milk?”

“How do you ask nicely?” I prompted.

“Please, Mama, ca’ Babess has ‘um more milk?” – which I thought was pretty impressive, before her second birthday!

2 Responses to “Asking nicely”

  1. leechbabe Says:

    That is very impressive. I’m wondering how many years of prompting it is going to take for my girls to remember when to say please.

    • Kate @ upsidebackwards Says:

      It’s hard work, isn’t it?! We’re wondering how long table manners take to “bed in” as well… 🙂

Leave a Reply

