Goodnight train

Babess has been playing with a toy cellphone recently.  It’s bright yellow and has Thomas the Tank Engine on it.  About half the time she’s “talking to Nana”.  Other times, I ask her who she’s talking to, and she looks at the phone then at me and says, “Thomas!”.

So last night I was reading Goodnight Moon with her.  If you don’t know the story, it starts off, “In the great green room there was a telephone, and a red balloon, and a picture of the cow jumping over the moon”.  Yes, I just typed that straight from memory.  I’m pretty sure I could do the whole book, but that would breach copyright.

I started off, “In the great green room there was…”

And she finished, “… a Thomas phone!”

2 Responses to “Goodnight train”

  1. leechbabe Says:

    ROFL love kids.

    My girls were hooked on Edwina the Emu about 2 years ago and I used to be able to recite it from memory. Thankfully all that sticks now is ‘Edwina the Emu lived in the zoo.’

    • Kate @ upsidebackwards Says:

      I can still do Hairy Maclary from Donaldson’s Dairy… 🙂 It’s funny when parents in the office, comparing notes, start to argue about the words to kids’ books though! (“No, Hercules Morse is before Bottomley Potts…”)

Leave a Reply

