No homework for you unless you behave!

Pearl was hoping to join a Japanese class at school this year.  She missed out in the first half of the year, and thought she would get another chance half-way through, but it turns out that is not the case.  She’s dealing with the disappointment very well, but I’m disappointed for her too of course.

After a bit of thought, I decided to offer her a consolation.  She loves grammar, and wants to learn a new language.  I can’t teach her Japanese, and the aunt who could lives too far away (although I could always send her there for a few months… [evil cackle]).

“How would you like to learn some Latin?” I asked her.

Wide eyes, gasps.  “Really?!”

Oh yes, I’m old-fashioned.  And I happen to have a few Latin primers lying around, plus I could do with a brush-up myself.  So now we do half an hour of Latin, twice a week when the young ones are in bed.  There is sometimes hot chocolate involved.

I wondered whether she’d take to it, once we started.  Sometimes we start something all keen, and it quickly becomes apparent that she’s not really interested.  But after the first lesson, I found her up late reading in the light from the hallway.

“If you’re not going to settle down properly after you’ve already been up late, we won’t be able to study Latin after all,” I warned her.  She scurried back to bed.  A few moments later she re-appeared, in tears.  “Do you mean I’m not allowed to do Latin anymore?” she sobbed.  I told her that was a warning, but it was the last one.  She’s been good about settling down ever since.

What’s Latin for “Mummy wins”?

© UpsideBackwards, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kate @ UpsideBackwards with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

4 Responses to “No homework for you unless you behave!”

  1. leechbabe Says:

    That is so fantastic 😀

    Do you read Kristina Chew’s Blog at all? http://autism.typepad.com/

  2. Mama Bub Says:

    I would LOVE to teach my kids Latin. I took two years in high school and two semesters in college where I was *almost* minored in Latin. I quit when it got ridiculously hard!

    • Kate @ upsidebackwards Says:

      You have more Latin than I do, then! I did it for one year at university, which was the equivalent of high-school Latin. People who had studied it at high school went straight into the second year classes. I enjoyed it very much, though, would have loved to do more. Pearl is really doing well. We’re taking it very slowly, as you can imagine, but she has learned the vocab for our little text so well that I accused her of studying behind my back (she giggled) 🙂 We’re about to learn about subjects and objects, nominative and accusative – so much to learn when we’re not taught about these things in our own language.

Leave a Reply

