Sunshine!

This morning we took Fainjin for a follow-up blood test.  We expect his iron level to be much better now.  He was amazingly good – I expected lots of protest and struggling, especially since he would have known what was going to happen this time.  But apart from saying “I don’t want it!” when the needle went in, which I can’t blame him for, and being a little distressed until they’d finished drawing the blood, he was great.  He didn’t struggle, didn’t cry, and was immensely proud of the sticking plaster they put on the needle-mark.  They also gave him a “certificate of bravery”, which he proudly took to show his friends at daycare.

Pearl and I went to the museum for the morning, where we met up with her godmother from Very Far Away and had a great time looking around.  Then, because it is a rule that you must do this on the first sunny day of the school holidays after a week or more of cold gales and rain, we went to the cinema.  And after that, because we hadn’t been there for at least 48 hours, we went to the library.  Pearl has discovered the Horrible Histories, on CD, so she drifts off to sleep listening to the more disgusting aspects of the Norman invasion.  To think, I used to wish for an end to the sickly-sweet fairy books she was reading…

© UpsideBackwards 2010.

2 Responses to “Sunshine!”

  1. Stimey Says:

    Poor guy. Good for him for being so brave. And I love that they gave him a certificate. That’s a brilliant idea.

    I’m going to have to check out those Horrible History books. Sounds cool!

    • Kate @ upsidebackwards Says:

      I haven’t read the books myself, I must have a look. Pearl is certainly enjoying them! And I expect that they would appeal to boys quite a lot. They have a series on mathematics too, I tried to get her to look at those but she wasn’t quite so keen.

Leave a Reply

