Sowwy, Mummy

sweet flowers grow in rocky places

We were a tired and somewhat grumpy family today.  The little ones were worn out from last night’s party excitement.  Pearl had woken at 3am with a nightmare, and come in to tell me all about it and snuggle for a while, so I was worn out.  Then she had gone to the loo, turning on every light and slamming every door – twice – as she did so, lest The Dad think that he might sleep through while we suffered.

So tempers were short, and children were clingy.

At some stage, I was holding Babess, who had insisted on climbing up me as if I were a handy tree to swing from.  She pulled on the neck of my t-shirt, and when I objected she hit out at my face.

“No!” I admonished.  “No hitting!  It hurts me and I don’t like it.”

As I frowned fiercely at her, her eyes went wide.  She clearly understood she had overstepped the mark.

“I sowwy Mummy.  No hitting!” she said, and gave me a huge hug.  “I wuv you Mummy.”

For a two-year-old, she sure gives a good apology.

© UpsideBackwards 2010.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Sowwy, Mummy”

  1. leechbabe Says:

    That melts the heart 🙂

Leave a Reply

