Never admit it

I don’t think Babess can have had a nap at daycare today. Most unusually, she fell asleep in the car on the way home.  And of course, after what can only have been a quarter-hour sleep, she was cranky and fragile when she woke up.

After the third mini-meltdown in as many minutes, I scooped her up for a cuddle and said, “Aw, sweetie, you’re totally worn out, aren’t you?”

“No I not!” she hiccoughed, “I just like crying!”

© UpsideBackwards 2010.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Never admit it”

  1. leechbabe Says:

    Ohhhh my heart is melting.

    • Kate @ upsidebackwards Says:

      It can join mine in a puddle on the floor 🙂

      We didn’t notice she was asleep until we stopped – she’s still in a rear-facing carseat. But it might explain an odd thing. About half-way home, she suddenly asked for a croissant. I told her I didn’t have any, and remarked that it was a random sort of thing to want on the way home. Now I think she might have dreamt about eating one, woken up briefly and been confused, asked for one, and then gone back to sleep!

  2. Mama Bub Says:

    They’re so sweet when they’re crabby. Bub always says to me, “I’m just going to be sad and cry now.”

Leave a Reply

