Words I thought I’d never hear

At the supermarket last week, emergency services personnel gathered for a fundraising event.  They were supporting Canteen, a charity for teenagers with cancer.  A local radio station was there too, playing music and providing commentary.

There was no fire-engine, sadly, but there were firefighters, who gladly showed a wide-eyed Fainjin their helmets and jackets and admired his fireman-yellow raincoat.

Fainjin watched them for a little while, then turned to me and said “Mama, I don’t want to be a firefighter.”

I smothered a chuckle.  I had wondered whether the event would prompt him to reconsider his career ambitions.  The firefighters (and police, and ambulance crew) were being very brave, and chatting and smiling, which impressed me.  It must be quite difficult to keep a smile on your face while having your legs waxed, in public…

© UpsideBackwards 2010.

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Words I thought I’d never hear”

  1. leechbabe Says:

    ROFL I don’t think I’d want to be a fire fighter either after that experience 😀

Leave a Reply

