Uh-oh.

“Mum, didn’t you say you had returned all my library books?”

Yes, I did.  Yesterday, I checked Pearl’s library card online.  She had six books out.  I collected six library books* together from her room, along with some of mine, and the DVDs I got out to entertain the kids on the days we get stuck inside – because this apartment is too small for much other entertainment, and there’s no backyard – and I took them back to the library.

*Well, I thought they were library books.  They all looked like library books.  I’m pretty sure they had labels on the spines, like library books do.

“No you didn’t!  I found one!”

And she hands me a library book.  I check her card, and it’s one of the ones I thought I had returned yesterday.  I should have checked the titles off against the list before I took them back, but I had Fainjin and Babess with me, and I didn’t do it.

Ooops.  I wonder which book of Pearl’s I donated to the library this week?

© UpsideBackwards 2010.

Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “Uh-oh.”

  1. Susan @WhyMommy Says:

    Whoops! But this is at least relatively benign — when I saw your teaser on twitter I thought immediately “pregnant? Or pocket pet loose in the house?” 🙂

  2. Kate @ upsidebackwards Says:

    Hahahaha! No. And wash your mouth out 😀 I have nothing but admiration for those who manage families of four children or more (including my own mother and mother-in-law). I have discovered empirically that I am not in their league.

  3. Stimey Says:

    I am just waiting for the day when I do this. Or return a school library book to the county library. It’s just all so confusing.

    • Kate @ upsidebackwards Says:

      Ack. I hope it wasn’t a school library book I returned to the city library! Although, on the bright side, they would undoubtedly return it to the school. If it was one of ours, which is more likely, it won’t have had our name it, by Murphy’s Law. And I can’t ask for it back because I don’t know what it was!

  4. Stimey Says:

    And I realize that makes me sound incompetent, but honestly, with all the books in this house, their various owners are lucky they get returned ANYWHERE.

Leave a Reply

