Our library rocks!

I went back to the library today, to return Pearl’s remaining library book.  I dithered a bit, then decided that I had nothing to lose but my pride, and went up to the information desk.  Of course, I hadn’t “donated” the book to our little branch library, but the big central one.

“Ummm,” I started, feeling rather less than articulate, “I think I returned a book last week that isn’t actually a library book…”

Apparently, I’m not the only one.  It happens several times a day.  The woman on the desk wasn’t very optimistic, since I couldn’t tell her the title, but she went to check.  It helped that I could tell her exactly when I left it.  We were lucky – there were only three non-library books left behind on Thursday.  And I recognised one of them!

It looked like a library book because it used to belong to a library, but had been cancelled and Pearl bought it at the book fair a couple of months ago.  She was thrilled to get it back.  And I was pretty chuffed, too.

© UpsideBackwards 2010.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Our library rocks!”

  1. L Says:

    Congratulations! 🙂

  2. Melissa Says:

    Libraries do rock. And they are generally pretty good at returning books that don’t belong to them. Glad Pearl got her book back.

Leave a Reply

