Midnight shenanigans

Babess woke up about 2 o’clock this morning.  She was upset, and wanted a snuggle, so The Dad brought her into our bed.  She is sleeping in our bedroom at the moment, since we’re in a two-bedroom apartment.

The few other times something like this has happened, she has quickly settled off to sleep and we’ve either been able to move her back without her waking up, or she has slept motionless and silent between us, no problem at all.

This morning she was apparently wide awake.  She wriggled around for a while, then launched into a long story.  She whispered very quietly, so I slept through most of it, just vaguely aware that she was talking and talking and talking next to me.  The Dad doesn’t know what the story was about either, but says it involved some gesticulating as well.  Eventually, she decided to play with his hair, and amused herself thus for some time.

Then she turned her attention to me, and smushed my face with her hands, playing with my cheeks, then my forehead, then my lips, and so on.  I was soooo tired, mostly I just let her, feebly protesting every so often “Shhhh, sleeping…”  She giggled and giggled, and stuck her fingers in my mouth.  Ugh.

At some point I saw that it was now about 4 o’clock.  I never fully woke up, but didn’t feel like I had been very asleep either.

A couple of hours later, I dragged myself awake and out of bed to start the day, and she was sound asleep on my pillow.  Figures.

© UpsideBackwards 2010.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Midnight shenanigans”

  1. Marita Says:

    Ugh hugs. That is what happens most nights with Heidi.

  2. Marita Says:

    I do hope you get some sleep tonight,

Leave a Reply

