Heirloom

Babess asked to wear a cardigan this morning.  She didn’t need one, it’s not cold, but she liked the colour and the feel of the soft red chenille.  She didn’t need to ask me, either: she can get it out and put it on by herself, but she does tend to ask.  So in the spirit of dressing-up, she wore it for a little while.  It ended up in the kitchen, discarded.

Some time later, she appeared in the kitchen, carrying a brightly-coloured jacket.  My Gran knitted it many years ago for my nephew, now a strapping young man of well over 6 foot.

“Can I wear dis callidgen?” she asked hopefully.  Her head tilted to one side for maximum cuteness-quotient.  “‘Cos dis callidgen is berry lovely…”

“Yes,” I smiled, “that cardigan is very lovely.  Great-Gran made that and would love to think of you wearing it.”

“Can I wear it?”

“Yes.”

She beamed and pointed to the red cardigan.  “And can I put dat one away?  ‘Cos I don’t need it now.”

Bless her tidy soul.

© UpsideBackwards 2011.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Heirloom”

  1. Megan @ Mama Bub Says:

    “Bless her tidy soul” might be the best thing I’ve heard all day.

  2. Marita Says:

    Awwww my heart melts

Leave a Reply

