Multiple identities

My Gran was displeased that I didn’t change my name when I got married – apparently it showed a lack of commitment.  She needn’t have worried, an involuntary name-change soon came along.

I’m hardly ever “Kate” any more.  I’m “Pearl’s mum”, most often.  I even find that I introduce myself as that, under some circumstances.  I’m also “Fainjin-and-Babess’ mum”, of course, and as they become more sociable that name is gaining more currency.

The Dad has undergone a similar change, although to a lesser extent since he doesn’t interact with the school parents as much as I do, and the daycare parents retain their own names a little more at least amongst themselves.

On arrival at daycare in the afternoons, the first child to see us will often turn tail and run, calling out, “Fainjin!  Your Mum’s here!” or “Babess!  Your Dad!”  (it amuses me that they all recognise each other’s parents without fail).  That’s fine with us, it’s even quite cute.  But then the other day The Dad arrived and Babess was the first to see him.

“Oh!” she said, “Fainjin’s Dad is here!”

“I’m yours too!” he protested, but she was already running off to find her brother.

Do you see my cool new button, down on the right-hand-side of my home page?  The “No Princess Fights Alone” one?  Click on it, you’ll see Susan/WhyMommy’s latest post on joining a clinical trial, updating her will (with an insensitive lawyer cracking jokes), and being lucky.  Leave her some love, will you?  And if you have a blog, go collect a button from Amie at MamaLoves.  She’s donating to Crickett’s Answer for every button that goes up in the blogosphere – and so is Leticia at Tech Savvy Mama, so make sure to leave her a comment, too!

© UpsideBackwards 2011.

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Multiple identities”

  1. Jenny Says:

    I am only just now being started to known by my name rather than ‘someone’s’ mum – I’ve had to train the nurses at the hospital to call me Jenny rather than my ‘legal/official’ name Jennifer because that makes me feel even less like myself than being ‘someones’ (usually YD’s) mum. I did change my name when we got married only because it meant I went from the 3rd most common NZ English name to the 5th most common (hint I also didnt like being called JJ) LOL

    • Kate @ upsidebackwards Says:

      I quite often use my married name, actually, ‘cos it’s much easier to spell – but my maiden name is on my bank accounts and passport! I have to admit, sometimes I forget which name I’ve told someone (eg tradespeople), not a good look when you can’t remember your own name 🙂

  2. Stimey Says:

    I think I prefer, say, “Sam’s mom” to Mrs. Stimey. That one just makes me feel old. I’m like you, I use both my maiden and married name and sometimes a combination of the two and it’s a problem when I forget which name to use. Throw in a blog pseudonym and it’s all over. 🙂

Leave a Reply

