“I’ve come to apologise…”

There’s usually a settling-in period when Pearl comes home from a holiday with Nana and Poppa.  She comes back to earth (and younger siblings, and “home” rules) with a bit of a bump, and for a day or two chafes at the normality of it all.

So we were frustrated and annoyed but not surprised when she blew up shortly after arriving home.  The cause of the tantrum was one of us asking her to put her shoes away – she had taken them off and dumped them in the middle of the kitchen floor.

We were informed that we were the meanest parents in the world, completely unreasonable, horrid (her favourite word at the moment) people, and she might as well run AWAY.  We nodded.  And asked her to pick up her shoes before she left.

It was pouring oil on the fire, really, and of course another torrent of tormented angst was directed at our cruel unfeeling selves.

We sighed at each other, tag-teamed to keep from betraying too much of our own frustration and angst, and got on with dinner and getting small ones to bed and so on.

Then, unprompted and much sooner than we would have expected, Pearl emerged from her bedroom (whence she had stormed in disgust).  She stood in front of us, took a deep breath, and said, “I have come to apologise for my behaviour earlier.  I’m sorry for shouting and not doing what you asked.  I’ll try to be good now.”

When I picked my jaw up off the ground, I thanked her and apologised for any shouting on my own part.  We hugged.  I raised an eyebrow at the Dad, Did you suggest this?, and he shrugged back, No.

Over the next couple of days I made sure to tell her a few times how impressed I was with her apology and maturity.  “Yes,” she remarked, “I think it’s easier for both of us when I’m good” (by which she means doing what she’s asked without throwing a tantrum about it).

I think I see a glimmer of light at the end of the tunnel!

© UpsideBackwards 2011.

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to ““I’ve come to apologise…””

  1. Jess Says:

    Oh my gosh! Such maturity! You’re doing something right… I better start making notes now 😉

  2. kloppenmum Says:

    I am very big on apologies having to be sincere…so it’s great to hear of one which was. Well done Pearl..and you, of course!

Leave a Reply

