When I was a baby…

I am thrilled to report that Fainjin seems to have taken the toilet-training thing on board.  It has taken a little while, about 6 weeks I suppose, but that has been 6 weeks of constant improvement, and this week has gone by without accident (at least, until just after bed-time tonight!).

He’s very proud of himself and of his chart full of stickers on the fridge.  There’s possibly an educational advantage too – he is fascinated by the multiplication tables on the back of the toilet door and loves to read the numbers.  So he might have his times tables down before he starts school at this rate!

As he was washing his hands yesterday, beaming with self-congratulation, I had an idea.  I said rather casually, “Now you’re all grown-up about going to the toilet, perhaps we can start working on being grown-up about eating too.”  I expected him to just ignore me, and was prepared to say nothing further.  But he looked up at me and said “Yeah!” quite enthusiastically.

Tonight in the car on the way home, we were talking about our fish-and-chips order.  Fainin hasn’t been eating take-aways for quite a long time now.  When he was little he would have a hotdog and chips, but he slowly stopped eating them so we no longer ordered for him and would give him pasta and cheese instead.  But today, as we asked the girls what they would like (it’s always the same, but we give them the illusion of choice for the treat), he piped up that he would like some chips.  “When I was a baby I didn’t like anything but I’m grown-up now and I like everything!” he announced.

It seems weird and counter-intuitive to feel like celebrating because my child will eat junk food, but I do.  Every new food is cause for celebration, and this time has been at his own instigation rather than our insistence.  Also, if he eats hot chips, that will make dining out a whole lot easier in future.

© UpsideBackwards 2011.

Tags: , , , ,

8 Responses to “When I was a baby…”

  1. Kathy Says:

    WoooHoooo! Junk food! Oh, I know what the problem is … remember that he is secretly MY child …

  2. Stimey Says:

    We all have our own little victories. 🙂

  3. Melissa Says:

    Can you even imagine what we would have said as teenagers if people told us we’d be putting stickers on a chart every time someone pooped?

  4. leechbabe Says:

    That is fantastic !

  5. Melissa Says:

    Glad the toilet training is going well. I have half-heartedly started and we mostly have conversations about it (one-sided conversations at that) and the occasional sitting on the toilet. I am hoping we will get there in our own time and that it won’t be too long now …

Leave a Reply

