A creative solution

We have coloured plastic plates from IKEA that the kids use.  There are six, all different colours, which looks lovely but causes arguments all the time because inevitably at least two children will want the same colour.

The rule is: whoever asked for the colour first, gets it.

Today Babess asked for the green plate for her lunch.  Then Fainjin decided he wanted the green plate.  There were tears.  There was howling.  Fainjin tried to get Babess to take the green bowl instead of the plate.  We offered him a green cup.  More tears, more howling.  I was becoming quite annoyed with the tantrum when he came up with his own rather intelligent solution.

He asked us to put the blue plate on top of the yellow plate because then it would look green.

So we did, and it did, and he ate his lunch quite happily.

© UpsideBackwards 2011.

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “A creative solution”

  1. Asta Burrows Says:

    What a great solution to the problem! I will try to remember that one 🙂

  2. Kelley @ Magnetoboldtoo Says:

    That kid is gunna be president of the universe one day.

  3. Katrina @ mommyninetimes.blogspot.com Says:

    How funny!
    In our house, I finally HAD IT with all the fighting over which cup is theirs….”I want the blue one!” “The pink one is mine! “No! It’s mine! You had the pink cup yesterday!” Wahh wahh whine whine bicker bicker
    Just about drove me nuts.
    So I went out and bought about 20 clear plastic cups, the kind that you’d get at a Denny’s or some place like that (they look like restaurant cups!) and since they were all the EXACT same…I figured, problem solved.
    Not so.
    Turns out my kids will claim ANYTHING just to claim it, just to argue.
    I set the cups out on the counter during lunch time…and sure enough, the six year old grabbed the first one and said, “This cup is MINE!” and the four year old said, “Not fair! I wanted that one!” Wahh wahh whine whine bicker bicker

    WTHeck?
    Crazy kids.

    • Kate @ upsidebackwards Says:

      Hahaha! I had wondered about ditching the colourful plates, bowls and cups and making them use plain white ones, but perhaps I won’t bother after all. I did read recently that it’s good for kids to bicker – they learn mediation and dispute-resolution skills. I shall tell myself that that is what they are doing 🙂

Leave a Reply

