Owie

Babess had her “I’m sad” face on, and was using her “poor me” voice when she came to me saying, “Mama, mama, oooowwwwiiiieeee”, so I knew she wasn’t actually very hurt.

“What’s happened?”

“I owwwwie.”

“Are you hurt?”

“Yeeeeahhhhh…”  sad frown.

“Where are you hurt?”

“I hurt all by myself.”

“Yes… what part of you is hurt?”

She paused, thought about it.  “My fooooot.”

“Oh dear, give it a rub.  How did you hurt your foot?”

“It’s sooooore.”

“Yes, how did you hurt it?”

“I kicked the fridge.”

I just gave her a despairing look and shook my head at that point.  The Dad refused to make eye contact with me, for fear of further wounding her dignity with his laughter.

© UpsideBackwards 2011.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

