Ponkin

Minikins, or baby pumpkins, are in shops here at the moment.  I bought a couple last week, and the children were intrigued.  They certainly are cute-looking, although I have to say I prefer the fuller flavour of normal-sized pumpkins.

Last night on the way home, while musing on what to have for dinner, I mentioned the minikin (one had already been eaten), and Babess was very keen.  But by the time I got around to cooking, I had forgotten that whole conversation, and when I served up the children’s dinner, Babess thrust out her bottom lip and demanded to know where the “ponkin” was.

“Oh dear!  I’m so sorry, Babess, I forgot to cook it!”

“But I waaaaant ponkin!”

We got the minikin out of the cupboard and admired it once more, and I had to explain that it wasn’t nice to eat until it had been cooked, and promised to cook it “tomorrow”.

So tonight as soon as we got home, I prepared and cooked the minikin, along with some other vegetables and cocktail sausages.  Dinner was later than usual because of roasting the veges, but finally it was ready.

“Babess, look, here’s your baby pumpkin!  Do you want me to cut up your piece for you?”

“No!  I don’t liiiiiiike ponkin!”

Of course not.

I am happy to report that she did eventually eat it – especially the skin, which I would usually discard and did offer to cut off for her.  She let me cut it off, then ate it like a biscuit.  “Yummy!”  Strange child.

© UpsideBackwards 2011.

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Ponkin”

  1. leechbabe Says:

    🙂 those baby pumpkins do look so cute, never tried to eat them though. With Heidi’s dislike of orange food there is not much pumpkin eating happening in our house at all.

    • Kate @ upsidebackwards Says:

      We are starting to have more frequent “big people dinners” after the kids have eaten and gone to bed – not always, but sometimes it’s nice to be able to hold a sensible conversation over a spicy or more varied meal than the kids will contemplate 🙂

    • L Says:

      For a while our son seemed only to eat orange food. 🙂 Now he’s moved on to green. But he does things like push the grapes aside to finish the green beans, and then demand more green beans. Enjoy it while it lasts, I suppose.

      And Kate – Too cute. 🙂 Hope that things are going well!

  2. katesaysstuff Says:

    Oh little people. Gotta love them!

    I’ve not seen the minikins, but wonder if my big kids would be intrigued enough to eat them. Worth a try I’m thinking!

    • Kate @ upsidebackwards Says:

      I wish I had taken a photo of it before we cooked and ate it! For myself, I think I would prefer to serve it hollowed out and stuffed with the pumpkin flesh well-seasoned and perhaps mixed with other veges – or as a cute bowl for a good pumpkin soup… The kids seemed to quite like the milder flavour though.
      Except Fainjin, but of course he didn’t even try it.

Leave a Reply

