Free at last!

It’s Babess’ birthday.  She is three years old.  My baby.  I’m having a hard time believing it!  I suppose I’ll have to stop calling her my “baby” now.

She had a great day, starting with presents at breakfast-time – including a Minnie Mouse doll holding a balloon saying “It’s My Birthday!”, signed by Minnie Mouse herself when Pearl and I met her at Disneyland.  It also plays a tune when you squeeze its foot, “Happy Birthday” twice through each time.  It played nearly constantly for the first couple of hours after she got it…

I had made a chocolate cake, as ordered, and decorated it with heart-shaped sprinkles, which met her specification that the cake be decorated with “pink love hearts”.  The Dad and I stayed at daycare for the morning tea “party”.  Everyone sang, the cake was served, and daycare’s own little birthday rituals were observed.  Babess sat up straight and beamed a shy-but-proud smile.

Tonight we had her choice of meal, sausages and rice, followed by more cake.  She has talked to Nana, and Grandma and Grandad, and had emails from aunts and cousins.

All due fuss has been made, and she has enjoyed it.  She said to me tonight, “I’m da birfday girl, aren’t I?”

“Yes, you are today.”

“And Fainjin’s birfday is tomorrow, isn’t it?”

“Um, no, it’s not.”

“Ohhh.” She was sad – she has had a great time and wants her big brother to have a turn too.  She was cheered up to know that Pearl’s birthday is only three months away… and her own “family party” is yet to come!

© UpsideBackwards 2011.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

