Not a nap, just a rest…

Babess was clearly in need of a nap this afternoon.  She was losing the plot, and had dark circles under her eyes.  I told her that after her drink of water she was going to bed.

“No!  I not need a nap!” she said.  “I not tired!”

Of course not.  What self-respecting three-year-old would admit to being tired at 2 o’clock in the afternoon, after a morning out and a couple of hours playing hard in the garden with her siblings?

“That’s ok,” I told her.  “You don’t have to have a nap!  You can just sit in your bed and read a book.”

It sounded like a wonderful treat to me, and apparently also to her.  “Ok!” she was all enthusiasm.  She gathered up a small pile of books, and happily settled into her bed.

About 20 min later… sound asleep.

To be fair, under the same circumstances I think I would have been too!

© UpsideBackwards 2011.

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Not a nap, just a rest…”

  1. karen Says:

    She may be working on the same principle as Ollie. He tells me he doesn’t sleep at daycare, just rests with his eyes closed. If only he would rest like that at home.

Leave a Reply

