Polysyllabic

Helping Fainjin get dressed this morning, I gave him the option: “Blue socks, or red socks?”

He pondered for a moment, then said, “Red socks!”

I saw he was already wearing red underwear, so I said, “Ok, then they’ll match your undies.”

“Hmm,” he said, “They’re similar…”

Apparently the black lettering on the waistband is enough for the socks not to be quite matching, and to inspire him into 3-syllable words.

© UpsideBackwards 2011.

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Polysyllabic”

  1. Jennifer Burden Says:

    I think children have much more analytical brains than us! I get that often from my 4 year old. Well, they’re not REALLY the same….etc. lol!

    Jen 🙂

    • Kate @ upsidebackwards Says:

      Hi Jen!
      They *certainly* go through a phase where, having realised there are “rules”, especially in language, apply those rules rigidly without regard to the exceptions 🙂
      Thanks for the comment!

  2. zomelie Says:

    I love the thought process here. My older daughter has been surprising me with the things she says since she was 2.

Leave a Reply

