Funny-bone

The Dad has a cast from his shoulder to his finger-tips.  He also had a very small sticking plaster on his left arm, from where he had a drip in his arm in hospital.

This morning the kids came in to our bedroom, and got their first real look at him since he has been home.  Both Fainjin and Babess completely ignored the cast, but were most concerned by the sticking plaster.  “Daddy’s got an owie on his arm!”

This morning I explained to Fainjin that I had to go out to take Babess to daycare, and asked him to look after The Dad for me.  He regarded me seriously for a moment, then said, “Mummy… Babess and I, well, we like to think Daddy’s looking after us…”

Sweet boy!  I hid my grin, and explained that that is usually the case, but since Daddy can only use one arm, he really needs someone to look after him at the moment, and aren’t we lucky that Fainjin is grown-up enough to do the job?

Fainjin agreed to stay home and help Daddy with anything requiring two hands.  I heard later that he told the Dad that you can still “play Lego” with only one hand.

© UpsideBackwards 2011.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Funny-bone”

  1. Marita Says:

    Fainjin is so adorable 🙂 Of course you can play with Lego with only one hand.

  2. L Says:

    So Sweet!

    Sending lots of healing thoughts. (Sadly, I can’t bring a baby to amuse (you all and) the dad on the sick bed… Wish I could, though!)

Leave a Reply

