The threedom to choose

Babess decided to wear her princess dress to daycare today.  Who was I to stop her?

I noticed that the gold lace on the hem had come adrift from the gauzy overskirt, at least half-way around.  I offered to fix it another time, if she would change the dress, or just cut it off.  “Just cut it off!” she said, and so I did.  You can’t even tell, really.

Walking through town, passing lots of people on their way to work, she was like a little ray of sunshine, drawing admiring glances and smiles as she paraded in her shining golden dress.  One woman, walking in the same direction as us, said to us, “What a lovely dress!”

I replied, “When you’re three, you can choose your clothes from the dress-up box and nobody minds.”  Babess agreed, saying proudly, “Dis is my princess dress!”

The stranger smiled and said enviously, “I wish I was three…”

© UpsideBackwards 2012.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “The threedom to choose”

  1. Marita Says:

    I wish I could wear a princess dress too.

Leave a Reply

