Reading, one letter at a time

Most nights, Babess takes a pile of books to bed with her.   I go in after she has fallen asleep and gently remove them from under her head, arms, legs, or wherever.  She usually looks at the pictures and tells herself stories about them as she is settling in for the night.

Tonight she decided to “read”.  I was sitting on the couch when I heard her call out, “Mum, what’s the letter after the C? Is it H or U?”

Since I couldn’t see the book, and had no idea what word she was looking at, I was at a loss.  I went to her bedroom door and took a peek at the book.   Then I went back to the couch and tried to watch TV.

“It’s an H.”

“Oh, thanks.  H.  E… E… what’s this one after the Es?”

“It’s a K.”

“K.  Ok.  What’s after the K?”

“Y.”

“Because I’m reading!  What’s this letter after the K?”

“It’s a Y.”

“Oooooh.  Y.  K… are these zeroes or Os?”

I had given up on TV now, this was much more entertaining.  “They’re Os.”

“Thanks!  And what’s after that?”

“It’s another K.”

“And is this one a A or a 6?”

“It’s A.”

“A, B, U… what’s after the U?”

“R.”

“R, R, A, S!” such triumph.

I expected her to demand to know what she had just spelt out, but I think the effort of identifying all the letters had worn her out.  We’ll have to read about the cheeky kookaburras another night.

© UpsideBackwards 2012.

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

