Music lessons

As Fainjin and I walked to music school this morning, I asked him what he thought they might do today.  He thought they might sing some songs and play some games – a fair bet.  He sang me the song they learnt before Easter, “Hot Cross Buns”.

I recalled his initial reaction at the first lesson and smiled to myself.  “You like music, don’t you?”

“Yeah!  And you know, Mum, there are notes.  The coloured-in one is one clap” – he clapped once – “the not-coloured-in one is two claps” – clap clap – “and the circle one is one, two, three, four claps!  That’s how you do it.  That’s the music notes.”

That is indeed how you do it.  His music teacher was a proud as I was, when I told her.

© UpsideBackwards 2012.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Music lessons”

  1. Karen G Says:

    Hi there,
    It’s great how Fainjin’s teacher explained the notes, and how he then explained them to you! [Guessing they are quarter note, half note, and full note.]

    btw, I found your blog via Stimeyland a while ago, and enjoy reading about your family’s adventures. I only follow a very few blogs – fewer than five, actually. Yours is very upbeat & fun to read.

    • Kate @ upsidebackwards Says:

      Thanks, Karen! We call the notes crotchet, minim and semibreve, but yes they are the same as quarter note, half note and full note 🙂 I like Fainjin’s names for them too!
      I’m so glad you enjoy my stories, thanks very much for your kind comments (and on the ANZAC Day post too).

Leave a Reply

