Long weekend

1:52am.  Babess materialises right next to my right ear.  “Mummy, when can we get up?”  I ignore the ominous “we”, glance at the clock, groan and firmly tell her “When the first number on your clock is seven!”

7:02am. Fainjin bursts into our room.  “Mum!  Turn on your light! It’s getting up time!”

I glance at the clock, groan in resignation, and turn on my bedside light.  “OK, Fainjin…”

“What day is it today?” he asks.

“Monday…” I begin.

“A school day!” he is all excited, he loves school.

“No, there’s no school today, it’s…”

“Whyyyy?” comes the anguished cry.

“…Queen’s Birthday,” I finish.

“What?!” he is incredulous, startled, shocked.

“Queen’s Birthday,” we chorus, The Dad grinning at me.

“I don’t want to go!” he blurts, and we both laugh.

“You don’t have to go anywhere!” we assure him, but he is desperately trying to think of ways to get out of his imaginary obligation to Her Majesty.

“Mrs X will miss me… I need to go to school…” his teacher will be touched when I tell her he was so concerned for her.

© UpsideBackwards 2012.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

