Frugality

We were walking through the village, having popped into a couple of shops for errands.  Fainjin suddenly asked, “Mama, when you buy things, why do you always buy the one that’s not so much dollars?”

I explained that we work hard for our money, and it’s a limited resource.  When we go to spend money, first we need to think about whether we really need to spend it.  If we do, we want to get the best value for money that we can, and although that doesn’t always mean buying something at the lowest price, often it does.

He thought for a little bit.  “How much dollars do you have, Mama?”

I laughed.  “Never quite as many as I’d like!”  I’m sure that’s true for lots of people.

He slipped his hand into mine and looked up at me earnestly.  “Never mind, Mum, I will share my pocketmoney with you.”

He has a lovely heart.

© UpsideBackwards 2012.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

