Oh Santa, what were you thinking?!

This afternoon after school I took Fainjin and Pearl to see Santa at a department store.  Pearl wasn’t really very interested in seeing Santa, to be honest, but Fainjin certainly was, so she came along too.  She didn’t sit on the stool next to Santa or anything like that, preferring to be grown-up and hang back near me.

Fainjin happily regaled Santa with the day’s exploits at school and details of his good behaviour, and Santa ho-ho-ho-ed and chatted amiably.  Then the fatal question.

“So, young Fainjin, what would you like for Christmas?”

“Ummmm Star Wars Angry Birds,” comes the answer.  I try to catch Santa’s eye and shake my head slightly.  Santa doesn’t bring electronics to our house.  But…

“I think I can manage that,” he declares.  Eeek.  “How about you see what you can do, Santa?” I suggest, and he seems to nod.

“Do you need more Lego?” he asks Fainjin.  Whew.  We agree that we always need more Lego, although Fainjin laughs that everyone gives him Lego.

Then Santa turns his attention to Pearl.  “And what would you like for Christmas?”

Pearl, predictably, says with a smile, “A pony.”  I shake my head violently, and Pearl says, “But we can’t have one of those.”

Santa asks, “How old are you?”

“Ten.”

“Oh, there’s only five years to wait, then.”

I may have squawked.  Did Santa just promise my daughter a pony in 5 years time?  I think he did!  Does he think she will forget, or forgive?

Oooooh Santa.  You’re in trouble.

© UpsideBackwards 2012.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

