A Dog’s Show

One of the TV shows I remember from my childhood with great fondness is A Dog’s Show.  Each Sunday evening before the news we would avidly watch the sheepdog trials, marvelling at the well-trained dogs and the extraordinarily bolshie sheep.

I’ve often mused in recent years that this made much better television than the recent trend for talent shows, singing competitions, and kitchen wars.  I was wishing they would bring it back.

Last night I was up very late past my bed-time, and noticed that one of the more obscure tv channels was running a repeat of a 1980’s episode of A Dog’s Show!  I quickly started recording it, and went to bed.

This afternoon I sat down with Babess & Fainjin to watch some quality television.  I was hoping they would enjoy it, but wondered how well it had aged.  I also wondered what these 21st-century city children would think of sheepdog trials for entertainment, and whether they would tolerate it for more than five minutes before asking for cartoons.

I needn’t have worried.  They were fascinated.  They asked a few questions and started cheering on the dogs and exclaiming at the sheep.  This was a special anniversary programme, a kind of all-stars episode featuring past winners, and the producers had found some particularly evil-minded sheep which kept on running in exactly the wrong direction and staring menacingly at the dogs.

After a while Fainjin summed up the series perfectly: “So… the sheeps are the bad guys, eh?  And the dogs are the good guys.”

I had to agree, but gently pointed out that it’s “sheep”, not “sheeps”.  “We don’t put an s on the end of sheep, Fainjin.”

Babess, not yet at school but already figuring out the basics of spelling and always keen for the last word, jumped in, “No, we put a p on the end of sheep!”

© UpsideBackwards 2013.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

