Getting in early

This afternoon we spent nearly an hour in a large toy-and-book shop, just looking.  There was a big sale on, lots of interesting displays, and the children could hardly contain their delight.

They like to pore over toy catalogues when they arrive with junk mail, and divide the contents among their imaginary hoards.  “I’m having that, you can have that one…” – all completely fictional, but most enjoyable nonetheless.

So walking around a shop where you could touch most of the merchandise, or even just see it life-sized, was a heavenly experience for them.

Babess particularly liked a certain set of toys.  “Mum, for my birthday, can you get me this one?  And this one over here?  And I really like this one…” she gushed, to the amusement of a nearby stranger.

“Your birthday is in June… I’ll try to remember which ones you pointed to,” I smiled.  The stranger met my eyes and laughed.  Babess was supremely content.

When we got home, she wrote her birthday list.  The word “birthday” was spelt correctly… but “prppl pone” is still understandable.  (purple pony, in case you’re not used to reading 5yr-old).

© UpsideBackwards 2013.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Getting in early”

  1. Karen G Says:

    Hi! Definitely sounds like a fun outing. I hope bricks-and-mortar stores continue to exist — especially bookstores! Although, e-books are very convenient. Both have their place.
    I subscribe to your blog via e-mail, and it seems like you were away for a while? Happy to see you writing again!

    • Kate @ upsidebackwards Says:

      Awww, thank you! I just slipped out of the habit of writing for a while, and I’m trying to get back into it. It’s a different sort of cuteness as the children get older, and the writing doesn’t come as easily to me.
      I love ebooks for travelling, but I find paper books much more satisfying and easy to read. It’s possibly an age thing – I suspect our children will be much more comfortable with screens than pages as they grow up.

Leave a Reply

